Uncategorized

First blog post

So I really wanted my first blog post to be interesting, I wanted it to be fun and full of interesting books that I have read or am going to read… So lets see how it goes!

So I set my Goodreads challenge up at the start of the year, my aim is 100 (whoop, good-bloomin’-luck-to-me!) and actually, I don’t think I’m doing too badly so far! I’m currently on book number 10! Which, considering I have two children under 5 and go to work on top of keeping house and being a functioning adult…I personally think is pretty incredible!  However, the last two books I have read have dragged on a bit, they weren’t even that big, I just couldn’t get my teeth properly into them!

Here’s a list of the books I’ve read so far this year:

  1. Bloodfever by Karen Marie Moning
  2. A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness
  3. Shadow of Night by Deborah Harkness
  4. The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness
  5. The Fox and the Star by Coralie Bickford-Smith
  6. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  7. City of Ashes by Cassandra Clare
  8. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  9. City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare
  10. City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare

I don’t know if you can tell but I have a thing about reading series together…

My favourite out of this list was definitely the Discovery of Witches trilogy, Deborah Harkness created such an amazing world of witches, vampires and daemons, which was so different to anything I’ve read previously and (in my opinion SO much better then Twilight – and I actually enjoyed them before the films ruined them!)

I haven’t included any of the children’s books that I have read (except for the fox and the star, but that is such a beautiful book that I just HAD to include it into my Goodreads!) as I genuinely believe that it would cheating… and I’m just not about that life! (plus I totally would have already surpassed my challenge already if I did decide to include them… I’m a sucker for children’s books, whenever I go into town I always end up buying more of them, I’m determined to make bibliophiles out of my monsters!

I’m currently reading Carve the Mark by Veronica Roth, I understand that she has had a lot of backlash for this book, and I guess I understand why, but part of me can’t help but feel like… it’s just a book, that she made up, that she got inspiration from people who suffer from chronic pain, but it is just a book, she hasn’t purposely meant to offend anyone, and actually I am enjoying it. I don’t love it but it’s definitely not the worst book I’ve ever read. But I am having trouble connecting to the main characters. If one of them died I don’t think I’d mourn them all too much… and this makes me sad as I love to invest completely into a book and it’s characters – however I’ll go into more detail about this when I come to write my review once I’ve finished reading.

I don’t think I’ve made this post particularly fun or enjoyable, but hopefully you all know a bit more about me now!

Until next time!

x

 

Leave a Reply

