Books, Fairytale, Fantasy, Fiction, Uncategorized, YA Fantasy

Strange the Dreamer

IMG_4427.JPGThis book is everything I wanted it to be and so so much more!!! I’ve waited (slightly impatiently I admit!) for this book for so long, like waiting for rain in a drought. I adored Laini Taylor’s first trilogy, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and was so sad when I realised she had no other books out for me to devour. When I heard about this book I Literally bubbled over with excitement!

I was no let down.

The poetic writing had me enthralled from the start. By poetic I don’t mean flouncy and annoying like some fantasy can be! It was Beautiful and rolled off the tongue so smoothly I felt that I was melting into the book. The world building, the ideas, the creation of whole nations and races was so enthralling, I was totally sucked in.

I’m not a Huge fan of a male protagonist but Strange was just so perfect and imperfect a character that I fell in love with him straight from the off.

Even the secondary characters had so much to them that I felt that they were part of the family, I could picture this entire world and these people so vividly it was like watching HD TV.

My only one, small criticism would be that I could actually guess what was going to happen, it didn’t plan out as I’d imagined when I first formed the theory, but I got the gist of it right… I think if they’d been a few less hints about the ending throughout, it would have been perfect. But it didn’t take away any of my enjoyment, I still loved this book as if it were an extension of myself!

I’ve been looking forward to this book for so long, and I’m so sad that I will never get to read it for the first time again. I implore anyone who loves fantasy, of any sub-genre to read this book!

5* an absolute outstanding read 💕

Leave a Reply

